A Gathering Storm…

Life happens, all at once and rarely when we want it.

Seventeen years ago a hundred super-powered survivors from a dying race fell to Earth in a storm of fire and metal as their spaceship tore itself apart in the sky. Thousands had died on the journey and as they hit Earth, so did Bill Parker. He was the war hero who manufactured the escape.
He left his pregnant wife, his brothers, his best friend and his worst enemy behind.

Seventeen years passed.
The Parkers are doing well. Helen is the deputy mayor of Fate Cove, the island town right next to where the crash happened. Her brother-in-law Buzz is super-smart but terrible at relationships. Her twin children Joe and Lena are sheltered but well-meaning.

Bill’s best friend Claude Far has become a survivalist hermit with his two children. His nemesis Nick Morton is a lawyer, the owner of a local country club and his children are high-achievers at the local high school.

They have found their place on Earth, but in their own ways are lost.

Now, all of that will change.

Life happens, all at once. On the anniversary of the crash landing to Earth, Luke Far returns to high school after years of being home schooled by his drunk father. An alien presence appears on the island, causing ripples which will shake everything up. Then, at the edges, humans are beginning to suspect something is strange on Fate Cove.

Lightning follows the stories of these three families as their lives are turned upside down. A gentle tourist town becomes the battleground of the lives and loves of these aliens and the humans around them. This is a superpowered soap opera and no one’s life is in a vacuum. A win for one family may be at the cost of another. One character’s romance may lead to heartbreak elsewhere. Or violence. Or reckless use of powers. Or all of the above.

Lightning’s first ‘season’ will be eight novellas self-published regularly in the next couple of years. I’ll be releasing first digitally on Amazon and work out the rest from there.

Follow this site for news of when each episode is released, also for free fiction set in the Lightningverse. Or alternatively follow me on social media where I’ll announce these releases and rambling oddly about things. You can find all of those details here.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s